Loading Concerts

« All Concerts

  • This concert has passed.

Ensemble 360: Barnsley


Brahms String Quartet in C minor, op. 51, no. 1
Laurence Osborn new work – world premiere
Korngold Piano Quintet op. 15

The incredible musicians of Ensemble 360 return to Barnsley and this time they bring with them a world first; a new piece written by a rising young composer, Laurence Osborn. They also play an old favourite by Brahms which is one of the first pieces for string quartet that Brahms was willing to have published; and only then after a period of revision and immense self-doubt. The lavish musical style of Korngold’s famous Hollywood scores is pre-dated by this wonderful piano quintet in which distinct traces of the late Romantic works of Elgar and Rachmaninov can be detected. Ensemble 360 is also delighted to feature a world première (commissioned by The Royal Philharmonic Society) by rising young composer Laurence Osborn who has already written for the London Symphony Orchestra and London Philharmonic Orchestra.


Concert Category:
Concert Tags:


Emmanuel Church, Barnsley
Huddersfield Road Barnsley S75 1DT England
View Venue Website


Ensemble 360
View Organiser Website